Apple Watch six months on

Apple WatchRecently I realised I’d been wearing my Apple Watch for six months and it gave me cause to reflect on how it had fitted into my daily routine. When my Apple Watch arrived six months ago I hadn’t worn a watch for several years; I’d got into the habit of checking my iPhone for the time and using my Fitbit for fitness tracking.

However as phones get bigger it’s increasingly inconvenient to check the time on a phone so it’s back to a watch. The Apple Watch is a controversial gadget with both supporters and detractors. For me it’s the obvious extension to the iPhone and more useful than I expected.

So what makes the Apple Watch so useful?

As someone who (curiously) finds payments interesting Apple Pay is of course my favourite app! Whilst Apple Pay adoption is apparently low I still believe its time will come. Changing consumer behaviour is usually a slow burn and payments is no exception. Whilst using Apple Pay can be a bit hit and miss, especially with Amex cards or older POS terminals, it’s a big improvement on a contactless card, both from a security and a transaction information perspective.

Apart from Apple Pay, of the standard Apple Watch apps the most useful ones to me are Maps, Messages, Activity and Apple Pay. Maps is a top app; pull up directions on your iPhone and then follow them on your Watch. More secure, more convenient.

However there’s some great innovation tucked away in third party apps:

Using my Apple Watch to get cash from an ATM without a card is a neat trick thanks to NatWest Get Cash. The NatWest app generates a code that can be used to get cash from any NatWest ATM.

Tapping my Watch to unlock my Mac using MacID is a timesaver over typing in a long password.

Weather app Dark Sky makes use of a complication to warn you when rain is imminent.

Day One lets you note your location with a tap so you can add a geolocated note later.

It’s still early days for the Apple Watch but already it’s apparent how it will contribute to the impact of wearables on consumer behaviour.